Sunday, January 3, 2010

Results, December 29-31

The main excitement in joshi puroresu as 2009 ended happened in the Ice Ribbon and NEO rings.  In addition, some new indy group that's going to mix puroresu, MMA, and dancing called "IMPACT" had their debut show at Shin-Kiba 1st Ring.  It just seems to be the collection of usual indy sleaze suspects. They had a joshi match, as the Shirai sisters beat Bambi & Apple Miyuki as Io hit the Rider Kick (Hikari Fukuoka's move) on Apple.  Apparently Basara (the former Tyrannosaurus Okuda) was lurking around as well and says she'll be back in the ring this coming spring.

NEO's year end show at Korakuen Hall had a pretty iffy card.  The 16 year old Natsumi Kawano debuted, losing to Aya Yuki.  Hopefully she won't quickly disappear or get hurt like other recent joshi rookies.  Hiroyo is the #1 Matsumoto after pinning Miyako in a match that also featured Dump.  Most matches were quite short, but the Woman Army vs West Exit Pro Army 5 vs 5 elimination match was horrifyingly long for a comedy match.  It ended with Tanny Mouse and Small Antonio Inoki getting simulataneously eliminated over the top rope, so they used some sort of imitation or mimicry contest as a tiebreaker.  Mima Shimoda and the Revolucion Amandola stable beat Makoto, the Shirais, and Yukari Ishino.  Emi Sakura, our reigning queen of joshi awards, beat Big Momma Kyoko Inoue.  The finale saw Yoshiko Tamura & Ayumi Kurihara take the NEO tag titles away from Nanae Takahashi and Kana, with Ayumi beating Kana to claim her first title.

Ice Ribbon ran the first round of the eight woman SUPER ICE CUP.  The winner will also be the Ice Ribbon title holder, as Emi will defend the title throughout the event.  Emi beat Miyako Matsumoto; we also had Hikaru Shida over Makoto, Hikari Minami over Riho, and Tsukasa Fujimoto over Mai Ichii.

Early title action in 2010 will see the end of the Ice Ribbon SUPER ICE CUP on 1/4, along with a decision match for the newly vacant Ice Ribbon tag titles (Azumi Hyuga held with Ran Yu-Yu when she retired).  That match will have Nanae Takahashi & Mai Ichii vs Hiroyo Matsumoto & Hamuko Hoshi.

JWP will feature a league called the Open Challenge Cup in 2010.  There are ten wrestlers, five from JWP and five outsiders.  Each JWP wrestler will face each outsider in singles action and the top scorer from the JWP and outsider groups will face off in the finals.  That winner gets Kayoko Haruyama for the JWP title at MANIA-X in April.  Representing JWP are Tsubasa Kuragaki, Kaori Yoneyama, Tojuki Leon, Keito, & Sachie Abe.  The outsiders are Nanae Takahashi, Passion Hottei, Ran Yu-Yu, Emi Sakura, & Yumi Ohka.

MR. GANNOSUKE PRODUCE December 29, 2009
Shin-Kiba 1st Ring

2. 3WAY Match: Emi Sakura defeated Makoto vs Tsukasa Fujimoto (7:34) with La Magistral on Fujimoto.

IMPACT December 30, 2009
Shin-Kiba 1st Ring

1. Mio Shirai & Io Shirai defeated Bambi & Apple Miyuki (10:48) when Io used the Rider Kick on Miyuki.

NEO "CARNIVAL 2009" December 31, 2009
Korakuen Hall
976 Fans

1. Natsumi Kawano Debut: Aya Yuki defeated Natsumi Kawano (6:00) with a Fireman's Carry.
2. Fuuka & Asami Kawasaki defeated Tsukasa Fujimoto & Hikaru Shida (8:00) when Fuuka used the F-Crash On Shida.
3. #1 Matsumoto Match: Hiroyo Matsumoto defeated Miyako Matsumoto vs Dump Matsumoto (4:33) when Hiroyo used a Tokaido Drop on Miyako.
4. Kenny Omega defeated Natsuki*Taiyo (9:46) by KO after repeated dragon suplexes.
5. Woman Army vs West Gate Pro Army Battle Royale: Tanny Mouse vs Small Antonio Inoki (23:38) ended in a draw after they simultaneously went over the top rope.
Others, in order of elimination: World Noumezawa, Tiger Kid, Live Man, Chou-un Shiryu, Ran Yu-Yu, Toshie Uematsu, Yuki Miyazaki, Small Giant Baba.
5a. Mimicry Championship: Antonio Small Inoki & Yuki Miyazaki had a judgment draw.
5b. Mimicry Championship: World Noumezawa & Chou-un Shiryu had a judgment draw.
5c. Mimicry Championship: Small Antonio Inoki defeated Toshie Uematsu by decision.
6. Mima Shimoda, Kyoko Kimura, Atsuko Emoto, & Tomoka Nakagawa defeated Makoto, Mio Shirai, Io Shirai, & Yukari Ishino (15:07) when Shimoda used the Death Lake Driver on Makoto.
7. Emi Sakura defeated Kyoko Inoue (4:45) with a Flying Body Attack.
8. NEO Tag Team Championship: Yoshiko Tamura & Ayumi Kurihara defeated Nanae Takahashi & Kana (21:32) when Kurihara used a Double Knee Attack on Kana. Takahashi & Kana fail in the 2nd defense and Tamura & Kurihara become the 12th champions.

ICE RIBBON December 31, 2009
Warabi City Isami Wrestle Budokan
120 Fans

1. SUPER ICE-CUP: Hikaru Shida defeated Makoto (4:53) with a Reverse Cross Armbreaker.
2. SUPER ICE-CUP: Hikari Minami defeated Riho (8:30) with a Blockbuster.
3. SUPER ICE-CUP: Tsukasa Fujimoto defeated Mai Ichii (9:40) with the Venus Shot.
4. SUPER ICE-CUP & ICEx60 Championship: Emi Sakura defeated Miyako Matsumoto (8:11) with a Moonsault Press. Sakura is successful in the 9th defense.
5. Hamuko Hoshi & Hiroyo Matsumoto defeated Kazumi Shimouma & Kaori Yoneyama (10:11) when Hoshi used a Passion of the Woman Cutback on Shimouma.

No comments: